Directory · verified September 8, 2026
The credentialing and licensing directory.
Seventeen vendors that verify, license, and enroll clinicians, profiled from their own sites in four structural groups: the SaaS platforms telehealth companies run, the verification-data APIs underneath them, the done-for-you licensing services, and the enterprise suites your payer counterparties likely run. Pricing postures are stated exactly (one vendor publishes a full rate card; most publish nothing), turnaround numbers are labeled as the vendor claims they are, and the primary sources themselves (IMLC, NLC, FCVS, NPDB) get their own section.
Published by EmbedCare, whose operated platform includes the credentialing and licensing work these vendors sell separately, so read it knowing that. Every fact is labeled by where it comes from; nothing is ranked, no vendor paid to appear, and inclusion implies no relationship with EmbedCare in either direction. Three vendors here publish listicles ranking themselves first; those are flagged in their rows. Corrections: anthony@embedcare.com.
Group 1: credentialing and licensing SaaS platforms
Software your team runs, usually with a CVO service attached: provider profiles, primary-source verification workflows, payer-enrollment tracking, and monitoring in one system. This is the group telehealth companies usually mean when they say credentialing platform.
Medallion
Website- Model
- Credentialing and licensing platform plus CVO hybrid; calls itself the AI operations partner powering healthcare's first real-time CVO. Legal entity FirstLayerAI, Inc., dba Medallion (its own release).
- Serves
- Provider groups, health systems, payers, RCM organizations, digital health companies
- Scope
- CVO credentialing, payer enrollment, cross-state licensing, monitoring, roster management, delegated credentialing, privileging
- Pricing posture
- Not published; its pricing page describes an investment model scoped per engagement (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Its claims: 1-day average credentialing file readiness, 2-day median provider onboarding; cites 300+ organizations and about 1 million supported providers
- Record & notes, 2024-2026
- Raised $43M led by Acrew Capital and launched CredAlliance, a verify-once clearinghouse across participating payer networks (its release, August 18, 2025; total funding $130M). Publishes self-ranking comparison content on its own domain; never cite those pages as neutral.
Verifiable
Website- Model
- Credentialing platform plus NCQA-certified CVO services (its claims), with a Salesforce-native application and a public API.
- Serves
- Health and dental plans, provider organizations, pharmacy, staffing
- Scope
- Credentialing, licensing, payer enrollment, network monitoring, primary-source verification
- Pricing posture
- Not published (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Its claims: under-3-day CVO turnaround, primary-source verifications in seconds
- Record & notes, 2024-2026
- States it achieved NCQA CVO certification in all eleven elements in 2025 (its blog).
CertifyOS (also styled Certify in press)
Website- Model
- API-first provider-data infrastructure: a real-time provider data layer updated from primary sources and accessible via a single API (its description).
- Serves
- Health plans, digital health organizations, health systems
- Scope
- Credentialing, licensing, compliance monitoring, roster and network management
- Pricing posture
- Not published (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Its claims: 10x faster provider onboarding; states 8 of 10 publicly listed US health plans are clients
- Record & notes, 2024-2026
- Raised a $40M Series B led by Transformation Capital (its release, June 26, 2025; the wire version ran under the shorter Certify brand).
Assured
Website- Model
- Credentialing platform with an in-house NCQA-certified CVO (its claims); the youngest entrant in this group, funded in 2025-2026.
- Serves
- Digital health companies, provider groups, health systems, health plans
- Scope
- Credentialing, payer enrollment, licensing, roster management, monitoring; verification across 2,000+ sources (its claim)
- Pricing posture
- Not published (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Its claims: committee-ready files in under 48 hours
- Record & notes, 2024-2026
- Raised a $6M seed (2025) and a $19M Series A led by Insight Partners (its blog, July 22, 2026; states it now serves more than 100 healthcare organizations). Publishes self-ranking best-credentialing-software listicles on its own blog; never cite those as neutral.
Modio Health (OneView)
Website- Model
- Cloud credentialing-management platform (OneView) owned by CHG Healthcare (its own press page), plus a done-for-you services arm for licenses, DEA registrations, and controlled-substance permits.
- Serves
- Healthcare organizations and provider teams nationwide
- Scope
- Credentialing, licensure management and renewals, payer-enrollment tracking, CAQH and CME tracking, compliance monitoring
- Pricing posture
- Not published (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Onboarding-speed framing only (set up in minutes); no credentialing-turnaround figures published
MedTrainer
Website- Model
- Compliance suite with credentialing and enrollment inside: training/LMS, documents, incident reporting, and credentialing in one platform.
- Serves
- Its claim: 32,000+ healthcare sites, from physician practices to community health centers, ASCs, and behavioral health
- Scope
- Credentialing, payer enrollments, exclusions monitoring, compliance training, policy management
- Pricing posture
- Structure published, figures gated: three named tiers (Select, Premier, Signature) with no dollar amounts; quotes turned around in 24 to 48 hours (its pricing page, September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Its claims: 3+ weeks faster credentialing, 40+ hours saved weekly
Licentiam
Website- Model
- Software-plus-services hybrid (use one or both, per its site) repositioned around revenue readiness; ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II certified with a HIPAA BAA (its claims).
- Serves
- Medical groups, behavioral health, telehealth and virtual care, labs, home health, MSOs and PE-backed platforms
- Scope
- State license applications and renewals, DEA and controlled-substance registrations, payer enrollments, credentialing, PSV, expiration monitoring
- Pricing posture
- Structure published, figures gated: custom pricing by network size across three tracks, with a free individual-provider profile tier (its pricing page, September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Not stated
Group 2: verification data and monitoring APIs
Infrastructure you build on rather than software you click through: primary-source data, license and exclusion monitoring, and verification feeds delivered by API. The buyers are credentialing teams and platforms, including several vendors in group 1.
Baton Health
Website- Model
- A primary-source data product and GraphQL API (calls itself the universal primary source for provider credentialing), not a done-for-you service.
- Serves
- Credentialing teams, payer operations, telehealth companies; names Cleveland Clinic, Centene, and Zivian Health among customers
- Scope
- Primary-source verification, license monitoring, OIG/SAM exclusion screening, DEA registration tracking, multi-state licensing data
- Pricing posture
- Structure published, figures gated: metered pay-as-you-go API billing with roster operations free (its API page, September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Its claims: verified credential data in under 1 second, 40M+ licenses monitored, 200+ primary-source connections across all 50 states
- Record & notes, 2024-2026
- Launched its Universal Primary Source database in May 2024 (named press).
ProviderTrust
Website- Model
- Automated compliance-monitoring service: exclusion and license monitoring delivered via API or SFTP.
- Serves
- Payers, hospitals and health systems, provider groups, digital health, HR and compliance teams
- Scope
- OIG/SAM exclusion monitoring, license and credential verification, network compliance
- Pricing posture
- Not published (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Its claims: 180M+ license verifications annually, 14M+ people and entities monitored
Verisys
Website- Model
- Enterprise verification-data vendor and NCQA-accredited CVO (its claims): FACIS sanctions data, LicenseCheck, and continuous monitoring under one roof.
- Serves
- Health plans, hospitals, retail pharmacies, background screeners, government
- Scope
- Credentialing, license verification across all US jurisdictions (its claim), exclusion screening, continuous monitoring, outsourced CVO
- Pricing posture
- Not published (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Its claims: over 99.95% data accuracy, more than two million outsourced credentialing events annually
Axuall
Website- Model
- Provider-data network and workforce-intelligence platform; products Confirm (verification) and Sync (verified data delivered into EHRs, directories, and rosters).
- Serves
- Health systems and staffing firms
- Scope
- Credentialing and onboarding, directory integrity, workforce analytics
- Pricing posture
- Not published (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Not stated in numbers; cites a provider data network spanning billions of data points
- Record & notes, 2024-2026
- Announced a long-term Cleveland Clinic agreement to co-develop Axuall Sync (January 2025, per press coverage).
Group 3: done-for-you licensing services
People, not platforms: services that fill out, file, and chase state license applications for you. This is also where the set's only fully published rate card lives, which makes it the pricing anchor for the whole category.
MedLicense
Website- Model
- Done-for-you physician licensing service (self-described white-glove, expedited), operating since 2001; the only vendor in this directory with a fully published rate card.
- Serves
- Physicians, NPs, military medical professionals, international medical graduates, telemedicine practitioners
- Scope
- State licenses in all 50 states, IMLC compact applications, renewals, telemedicine licensing
- Pricing posture
- Published figures (its pricing page, September 8, 2026): first state $779 (the published active-military first-state rate is lower), sliding to $599 each at 41+ states; IMLC letter of qualification $759 plus $259 per added state; renewal subscription $229 per license; complex cases priced higher. Its own caveat, verbatim: the posted prices are 'MedLicense.com's service fee only', in addition to any state or third-party fees.
- Speed (their claims)
- No numeric turnaround published (expedited branding only); cites 140,000 licenses issued since 2001 (its claim)
Medical Licensure Group
Website- Model
- Done-for-you licensing and credentialing service, explicitly anti-software: powered by people, not platforms (its own words). Established 2008.
- Serves
- Providers, hospitals, staffing firms
- Scope
- State licensing including IMLC and multi-state telemedicine, initial credentialing, payer enrollment, CAQH setup, sanction monitoring
- Pricing posture
- Not published (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Not stated
CompHealth licensing help
Website- Model
- Free in-house licensing assistance tied to locum tenens work: state fees covered and paperwork handled when you take assignments through CompHealth (its own page). Structurally different from a paid service; listed for completeness, not as a neutral licensing vendor.
- Serves
- Physicians and clinicians working locum assignments through CompHealth
- Scope
- State license applications and IMLC navigation, within its staffing relationship
- Pricing posture
- Free with assignments (its page, September 8, 2026); no standalone paid service advertised
- Speed (their claims)
- None claimed; its own guide notes state boards can take weeks to months
Group 4: enterprise credentialing suites
Hospital- and payer-scale platforms where credentialing sits inside a larger operations suite. Telehealth startups rarely start here, but these are the systems your payer and health-system counterparties likely run.
symplr
Website- Model
- Enterprise healthcare-operations vendor with a credentialing product family (symplr Provider, symplr Payer, symplr CVO, Credentialing Suite). Recorded at secondary quality: its site blocks automated reading, so this row comes from its own page titles and press releases.
- Serves
- Health systems, medical staff services teams, payers
- Scope
- Verification, credentialing, payer enrollment, privileging, contracting, CVO services
- Pricing posture
- Not published in material captured
- Speed (their claims)
- Not captured
- Record & notes, 2024-2026
- Completed integration of its IntelliCentrics acquisition (its release, December 3, 2024) and acquired Smart Square scheduling from AMN Healthcare (its release, July 2, 2025); backed by Clearlake Capital and Charlesbank per its press materials.
HealthStream (CredentialStream)
Website- Model
- Enterprise credentialing, enrollment, and privileging suite (CredentialStream and related products) from publicly traded HealthStream.
- Serves
- Acute-care hospitals, health systems, medical groups, payers, CVOs
- Scope
- Credentialing, payer enrollment, privileging, primary-source verification, CVO services
- Pricing posture
- Not published (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- No numeric claims on the page reviewed
- Record & notes, 2024-2026
- Acquired Virsys12, expanding payer-side credentialing (its investor release, October 2025), and MissionCare Collective (its release, December 15, 2025).
Atlas Systems (PRIME)
Website- Model
- IT-services company whose healthcare line, PRIME, covers provider data management, credentialing, and directory fulfillment; the least telehealth-specific vendor in this directory.
- Serves
- Health plans, health systems, provider groups (healthcare is one line among several verticals)
- Scope
- Provider data management, credentialing, compliance monitoring, directory fulfillment
- Pricing posture
- Not published (checked September 8, 2026)
- Speed (their claims)
- Not captured
- Record & notes, 2024-2026
- Publishes category best-of listicles on its own blog; never cite those as neutral rankings.
Profiles reflect each vendor's public positioning as verified on September 8, 2026; facts labeled as claims are the vendor's statements, not our verification. Checked and excluded: Silversheet (site unreachable at review; AMN ownership reported by third parties only), Kiwi Health (a patient-marketing platform, out of scope). The Licensure Group resolved to Medical Licensure Group, included above; Assured's domain is withassured.com. This page is re-verified quarterly and on any acquisition, rename, or ownership change touching a listed vendor.
The primary sources themselves.
Every vendor above ultimately reads from a small set of primary sources, and operators can use most of them directly. Fees and member counts on these change, and two of the sites below resist automated reading, so we link rather than reprint their numbers; check the live pages.
- The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) expedites multi-state physician licensure; its site publishes the current participating-state map, fees, and eligibility criteria.
- The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) lets nurses who live in a compact state apply for one multistate license if they meet the licensure requirements (its site's framing); per its NCSBN-operated site on September 8, 2026, 43 jurisdictions are currently part of the NLC. Check the covered license types there; advanced-practice licensure is a separate question from the NLC.
- FSMB's FCVS builds a reusable credentials-verification profile accepted by participating state boards; its fee schedule is on the same site.
- The NPDB (HRSA/HHS) is where malpractice payments and adverse actions live; organizations register to query, and practitioners can self-query their own record.
Credentialing and licensing for telehealth: FAQ
How much does credentialing software or a licensing service cost?
The honest market answer: almost nobody publishes figures. Of seventeen vendors reviewed, only MedLicense posts a full rate card (its pricing page, September 8, 2026: first state $779, with a lower published active-military rate, sliding to $599 at volume, renewals $229 per license, and its own caveat that these are service fees on top of state fees). Baton Health, MedTrainer, and Licentiam publish their pricing structures with the numbers gated; everyone else quotes per engagement, and CompHealth's help is free but tied to taking its staffing assignments. Get every quote normalized to your provider count, state count, and payer list before comparing.
What is the difference between credentialing, licensing, and payer enrollment?
Licensing is the state's permission for a clinician to practice, obtained per state. Credentialing is verifying a clinician's qualifications from primary sources (licenses, DEA registration, board certification, work history, exclusions), refreshed on a cycle. Payer enrollment is getting that credentialed clinician admitted to insurance networks so care can be billed, and it is usually the slowest of the three. Cash-pay telehealth needs licensing and credentialing; anything touching insurance needs all three.
What is a CVO, and does NCQA certification matter?
A credentials verification organization performs primary-source verification so each organization doesn't repeat it. NCQA certifies CVOs against its verification standards, and payers often expect it in delegated arrangements; Verifiable and Assured state NCQA CVO certification, and Verisys describes NCQA-accredited CVO services, per their own sites. Treat the certification claim as checkable: ask the vendor for its current NCQA standing and verify it with NCQA directly.
How long does credentialing actually take?
Vendor claims run from committee-ready files in under 48 hours (Assured) to under-3-day CVO turnaround (Verifiable) and 1-day file readiness (Medallion), all per their own marketing as of September 2026. The honest framing: platform turnaround is real but it is one leg; state license issuance and payer-enrollment queues set the calendar, and those run weeks to months regardless of software. Model your launch timeline on the slowest payer you need, not the fastest vendor claim.
This directory is diligence material, not a recommendation of any vendor; verification and licensure requirements are state and payer rules that change, so confirm every claim directly with the vendor and the primary sources.
On EmbedCare, the clinicians arrive already credentialed. Get the partner overview and see which layers you can stop shopping for.
One email, no sequence. A human follows up with your program scoped.
Credentialing is table stakes. It shouldn't be your project plan.
EmbedCare's operated programs run on a 50-state clinical network, credentialed and monitored for you, with licensed clinicians making every prescribing decision.