Skip to content
Skip to content

Directory · verified September 8, 2026

The support and operations directory: who will actually sign a BAA.

Seventeen vendors in three groups, plus five more in prose: the patient-support firms, healthcare virtual assistants, and remote-monitoring device vendors an operator buys when the program outgrows the founders. Each is described in its own words, with prices quoted verbatim where they are public and "not stated" recorded where they are not. Every claim was verified against the vendor's own pages on September 8, 2026; scale and rank claims are quoted, not adopted.

The finding that organized this page: of 22 vendors, four say in public they will sign a business associate agreement, one publishes an explicit refusal with its reasoning attached, one hedges with "BAA-ready safeguards", one acknowledges the business-associate role without committing to sign, and fifteen do not address it at all, including every remote-monitoring vendor here. HIPAA badges are common; BAA sentences are rare. Ask before you compare hourly figures.

Read this first: EmbedCare operates the support layer these vendors sell into, so read this as an interested party's carefully sourced notes and verify against each vendor directly. Inclusion implies no relationship or endorsement, nothing is ranked, and no vendor paid to appear. An absence recorded here means the claim was not on the pages we could reach on the verification date, not that the vendor would refuse. Vendor pages change on their own schedules; the only terms that bind anyone are the ones in your contract. Corrections: anthony@embedcare.com.

Healthcare-specific patient-support staffing.

Every vendor here claims healthcare specialization on its own site, and this is the only group where the BAA question has published answers: four of five address it. The first two rows are deliberately adjacent, not alphabetized. Hello Rache and Ataraxis run the same offshore staffing model at hourly figures within about a dollar-fifty of each other, and publish opposite answers on who signs.

VendorWhat it is (its words)Will it sign a BAA?Public pricing (Sep 8, 2026)How it works
Hello RacheHealthcare virtual assistants for medical, dental, optometry, and veterinary practices. Claims 6,000+ practices served and 12,000+ placements (its claims).No, at the corporate level, and it explains why in its own FAQ: “Our clients have the individual HVAs sign a Business Associate Agreement (BAA) with them. Our corporation does not have access to any clients PHI, therefore no need for us to sign a BAA.” The agreement runs between you and an individual contractor. Whether that structure protects you is a question for your counsel, not for us.Public and singular: “$9.50 USD per hour,” flat, “No contracts. No setup fees. Cancel anytime,” billed weekly. Minimum hours not stated.Offshore contractors in the Philippines, described as “mostly registered nurses (RNs)”, certified coders, and transcriptionists, with NBI background checks and HIPAA training. Its own BAA answer calls them contractors.
AtaraxisHIPAA-compliant virtual assistants from the Philippines, Latin America, and South Africa, with named healthcare roles including intake coordination, behavioral-health billing, and QA.Yes, and on both ends: “Every HIPAA-compliant virtual assistant placed through Ataraxis signs a Business Associate Agreement (BAA) before their first day,” and “Ataraxis also signs a BAA with your practice as the covered entity, so the compliance chain is documented on both ends, not just assumed.”Public in full: “Starting at $11/hr for full-time roles”; its cost block reads $1,950 a month full-time (174 hours, $11/hr all-in) and $1,100 a month part-time (87 hours, $12/hr all-in), with $23,400 as the stated annual full-time cost. The monthly figures round up from the hourly basis rather than deriving from it; both are its own numbers, printed as it prints them.Offshore placement model, monthly invoicing, no long-term contract claimed. Employment status (W2 versus contractor) not stated.
HelpSquad Health“End-to-end healthcare business process outsourcing”: virtual medical assistants, call-center teams, medical billing, prior authorizations, and patient outreach. The healthcare arm of a general CX company, with a “Not in healthcare?” fork in its own nav.Yes, at company level, and it draws the distinction itself: “We sign a BAA for the whole company. This gives you real legal protection and shows we take full responsibility for your data.” Alongside it: encrypted channels, secure virtual desktops, per-agent HIPAA training records, per-engagement access logs.Public in full: “From $8/hr,” with back office (digital) at $8-10 per hour, patient-facing (voice) at $10-13 per hour, and a managed-team tier custom-priced for three or more assistants; “$0 Upfront cost $0 Implementation fees $0 Replacement costs.”“US-managed, globally staffed”: account leadership in Doylestown, PA; patient-facing staff primarily in the Philippines; back office in India; support from South Africa. Names Epic, Cerner, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, NextGen, and others as integrations.
MEDVAMedical virtual assistants, “built by practicing physicians”, positioned against generalists: “Unlike general VA providers, MEDVA is purpose-built for healthcare.” Roles include receptionist, scribe, billing, claims, and remote patient monitoring.Not stated. No occurrence of “BAA” or “Business Associate” on any page checked. Its own heading reads “HIPAA Compliant* Medical Virtual Assistant”, asterisk included, with no footnote resolving the asterisk on that page. We reproduce the asterisk rather than guess what it qualifies.Not stated; no pricing page exists in its sitemap. Its only cost claim is proportional: “at 60% or more overhead cost reduction” (its claim).Offshore staff with a US-based client success team, plus a real physical-security tier it calls “Secure Facilities”: dedicated offices with “biometric access, encrypted servers, and secure access to Epic EMR.” Employment status not stated.
AthreonTranscription, medical scribing, and cybersecurity, across healthcare and nine other industries. Documentation, not patient-facing support, so scope the fit before the price.Yes, unambiguously: “Do you sign Business Associate Agreements (BAAs)? Yes. Athreon enters into Business Associate Agreements with Covered Entities as required under HIPAA.” It is the clearest single sentence on the question anywhere in this set.Not stated on any page checked.Asked and only partly answered on its own page: “Our workforce includes professionals located in the United States and Canada, and, where appropriate, additional credentialed team members operating under strict confidentiality, role-based access controls, and documented compliance training.” Data residency is stated per country.

General CX and BPO firms with a healthcare vertical.

Each of these sells outside healthcare too, and says so. The buyer-facing consequence is concrete: only one of the six commits in public to signing a BAA, and one other reaches the halfway house of “BAA-ready safeguards”. Horatio leads the group because it is the row a DTC telehealth operator will recognize itself in, despite publishing neither a price nor a BAA answer.

VendorWhat it is (its words)Will it sign a BAA?Public pricing (Sep 8, 2026)How it works
Horatio Health OperationsA CX company's health line, and the closest match on this page to a DTC telehealth buyer: “Global, white-glove patient experience teams,” omnichannel voice, chat, and email, RCM and billing operations, clinical admin, and “healthcare-trained specialists in telehealth, diagnostics, and wellness.”Not stated. “HIPAA-compliant workflows” and “HIPAA workflows + PHI security” appear; “BAA” and “Business Associate” do not appear at all.Not stated. Its page carries no dollar figure of any kind.Described only as “Global”; geographies and employment status not stated. Its one pull-quote is attributed to an unnamed “CEO, HealthTech Startup”, so treat it as decoration rather than a reference.
WishupA general virtual-assistant firm spanning “50+ industries, including healthcare”, naming dental, mental health, optometry, and chiropractic practices as healthcare targets.Yes, at organizational level, and it makes the distinction a buying criterion: “Wishup provides a Business Associate Agreement to every healthcare client. This BAA is signed at the organizational level.” Its own page warns about “the BAA gap”, where only the individual assistant signs. It is the one generalist here that answers like a healthcare specialist.Public: $1,299 a month part-time (20 hours a week) and $1,999 a month full-time (40 hours), with automation-enabled plans from $1,999 part-time and $2,999 full-time, and $23,988 quoted as the annual full-time cost.Managed model with a dedicated assistant manager and customer success manager; replacement inside 24 hours claimed. Geography and employment status not stated. Its page also republishes third-party breach and penalty statistics, which are not reproduced here.
MyOutDeskDedicated virtual assistants across real estate, healthcare, ecommerce, finance, insurance, mortgage, and legal. Healthcare is one vertical among many.Hedged, and the wording is the finding. Under a heading reading “HIPAA Compliant”, its security block offers “BAA-ready safeguards for protected health information.” Nowhere does it say it will sign one. Readiness of controls is a different claim from agreement to execute, and it is the only vendor here that occupies that middle ground. It separately claims SOC 2 certification and HIPAA and PCI-DSS compliance.Public as starting points: Managed Outsourcing “starting at $1,988/mo” and Specialized Outsourcing “starting at $2,500/mo.”Managed service with operations in the Philippines, Peru, Morocco, and Sacramento, CA. Claims a 0.1% acceptance rate from 125,000+ annual applicants (its claim).
Wing AssistantManaged virtual assistants across 155 roles and nine industries, with healthcare as one category (“HIPAA-trained, billing, scribes, scheduling”).Not stated. Zero occurrences of “BAA” or “Business Associate” on either page checked. What is present is a badge row: “ISO 27001 compliant. SOC 2 certified. HIPAA-compliant. GDPR-compliant.”Not stated in visible copy: its pricing URL resolves to a “Schedule a Call” page with no plan figures. A dollar range exists only inside that page's structured-data markup, which is machine metadata and not a rate card, so it is not quoted here as pricing.Not stated: no geography and no employment status on the pages checked. Claims 10,000+ active assistants and 2M+ applicants screened annually (its claims).
TeleDirect“HIPAA-compliant telehealth call center services for hospitals, private practices, medical groups, and local clinics.” Provider-side rather than DTC, with scheduling, callbacks, enrollment, and record updates.Not stated. It describes itself as “a HIPAA-compliant telehealth call center” with round-the-clock compliance monitoring, and never mentions a BAA.Structure without figures, and the structure is the differentiator: “No Monthly Contracts, No Monthly Fees, Just Flexible Prepaid Minute Blocks,” with unused minutes rolling over up to two years. Priced per minute rather than per seat.“100% U.S.-Based Live Agents”, the only all-onshore claim in this group. Employment status not stated.
AmeridialContact-center BPO with healthcare and pharmacy verticals: scheduling, tele-triage with licensed clinical agents, remote patient monitoring support, and scribing. Also the one vendor here selling refill work as labor (see the closing note).Not stated. “Ameridial adheres to all HIPAA guidelines. Our agents are trained in PHI handling,” with no BAA sentence on either page checked.Not stated on either page checked.HQ in Norcross, GA, with delivery from thirteen named countries including the United States, the Philippines, India, and Colombia. Employment status not stated.

RPM devices, connectivity, and fulfillment.

Ordered by architecture rather than brand, because that is what a buyer can act on: gateway-mediated, then natively cellular with no hub, then vendor-agnostic, then Bluetooth-first, and roughly in order of how much of the operation each vendor absorbs. Not one vendor in this group states a BAA commitment, and only one publishes a price. The question this ordering surfaces is who ships, who supports, and who bills, which every vendor answers differently.

VendorWhat it is (its words)Will it sign a BAA?Public pricing (Sep 8, 2026)How it works
TenoviConnected devices, cellular transmission, fulfillment, and one API, sold wholesale: its own “Who We Serve” page offers exactly two audiences, RPM companies and device manufacturers, and calls Tenovi “the glue” between them. A DTC operator buys it through an RPM platform, or becomes one.Not stated as a Tenovi commitment, and this is the easiest misread in the category. Its API page does say “A signed business associate agreement is required before any patient data moves”, but that sentence sits inside an FAQ answer giving generic diligence advice about RPM vendors, not as a promise about itself. Its own terms of service contain no BAA clause. Ask directly.Not stated anywhere: no pricing page exists in its sitemap, and lease-versus-purchase is unanswered even though its own buyer's checklist raises the question.Gateway-mediated: “More than 60 FDA-cleared Bluetooth and cellular devices connect to the Tenovi Cellular Gateway,” which transmits over US cellular networks. Patients plug in a gateway with no app, no account, and no Wi-Fi. Its own pages give three different partner counts on the same day (300+, more than 100, and 100), so treat any scale figure as unsettled.
Smart MeterRPM devices and connectivity, calling itself “The #1 Supplier of Technology and Solutions for Remote Patient Monitoring” and “Home of the only Private Data Network for RPM”. Both are its own unsourced rankings, quoted here rather than adopted.Not stated. Its compliance sentence is a blanket one: “Our devices and solutions comply with HIPAA, FDA, FTC, Medicare, and commercial payor requirements.” No BAA language on the pages checked.No figures, but three named buying shapes, which is the most useful structural disclosure in this group: Pay As You Go (per-patient monthly for activated devices), Membership (12 months prepaid, then a lower fixed monthly fee), and Product & Service Fee (one all-inclusive monthly fee with the device leased rather than owned).Natively cellular, no hub: readings “transmit immediately after testing with no hub, no Bluetooth pairing, and no WiFi required,” over a private multi-carrier network. Note its wording on regulatory status is “FDA approved”, a materially stronger term than the “cleared” and “listed” other vendors here use, with no clearance numbers published.
BodyTraceA cellular-connectivity company that sells a connected scale: one modality, not a device portfolio, serving device makers and any program that needs weight data at scale.Not stated, and HIPAA is not named at all. Its only compliance sentence reads: “We take privacy and data protection very seriously and comply with all relevant regulations in the United States and the European Union.” Worth saying plainly, because a US buyer will read “compliance” here and find no HIPAA word behind it.The only complete price in this group, and one of six on the whole page: “Our annual subscription fee of $80 includes the scale itself, cellular connectivity, access to our web-based monitoring interface and API. No additional costs or hidden fees.”Natively cellular, “no setup, no pairing, no installs”, with a real-time API. White-label branding offered above an unquantified minimum order. No FDA claim appears on the pages checked.
Impilo“Remote Care Operations Platform”: device connectivity, monitoring workflows, patient CRM, and a “Digital Health 4PL” logistics arm doing kitting, warehousing, white-label shipping, returns, and refurbishment. It also sells patient-support labor, which puts one foot in the first group on this page.Not stated. “BAA” and “Business Associate” appear nowhere in its site bundles. Its HIPAA claims are about infrastructure: “HIPAA-compliant, encrypted data transmission and storage. Role-based access control and detailed audit logging.”Not stated; no pricing page exists anywhere in its site.Deliberately vendor-agnostic: “Bluetooth, cellular, and integrated bundles”, normalizing data “across devices and vendors” into any EHR. Its regulatory claim is the strongest here and also the most precise: “Impilo is FDA registered, DME Accredited, and ISO 13485”, which is establishment registration and a quality standard, not device clearance. Claims 400k+ patients connected (its claim).
CareSimpleThe full-programme end of this group, selling “devices, connectivity, logistics, software, billing, and the clinical team to run it”, all under what it calls one accountable vendor. Sold to health systems, physician groups, and payers rather than DTC brands.Not stated on the page checked.Not stated.Natively cellular, “No WiFi, no Bluetooth pairing, no app to install”, with SLA-backed connectivity across three carriers and Amazon-powered fulfillment. The only vendor here publishing the billing codes it automates (CPT 99453, 99454, 99457). Names Epic, Oracle Health, Meditech, athenahealth, NextGen, and eClinicalWorks as integrations.
iHealth Unified Care“The All-In-One Solution for CCM & RPM”: devices plus a care team, for diabetes and hypertension populations. Sold to clinics, medical groups, and payers; low DTC relevance, and worth saying so.Not stated. It claims HIPAA Security policies, ISO 27001, and “SOC 2 Type 1”, which is Type 1 and not Type 2, reproduced as written.Not stated.Bluetooth-first, with “FDA-cleared, Bluetooth-connected monitoring devices” and an optional cellular gateway. Clinical staffing is included: coaching, monthly check-ins, and a dedicated care team. Says it integrates with “many widely-used EHRs” but names none.

Refill and retention operations: a layer, not yet a category.

The obvious fourth group does not exist, and pretending otherwise would manufacture a category the evidence does not support. Three vendors sell adjacent versions of the same work to three different buyers. Honey Healthsells it as software: its platform processes refills against clinical protocols and "approves, denies, or issues partial refills automatically based on established criteria", documenting into the EHR, with complex cases teed up for a prescriber. That is the clearest evidence the work can be productized, and it is also one module among roughly twenty on a back-office platform, priced nowhere on its site. Its trust center could not be reached from our environment, so its BAA posture is recorded as not found on the pages we could load rather than as an absence, which is why it sits here and not in the matrix above. Ameridial sells the same work as labor, to pharmacies and PBMs: refill reminder outreach, refill coordination, adherence follow-up, and barrier identification. Wellth sells adherence to Medicare Advantage, Medicaid, and marketplace plans, where the unit is a plan member rather than a cash-pay patient, so a DTC operator is not its buyer.

For a recurring-Rx program, that means refill continuity is still something you build, staff from the support vendors above, or buy inside an operated platform, and the retention benchmarks are the reason it matters more than any line item on this page.

Three vendors we could not row, and why.

A row that cannot state a vendor's price, devices, or BAA posture is not a row, so three remote-monitoring names are named here instead. Withings Health Solutionsblocks automated fetches on its professional pages, and the only document we could obtain from its own domain is a HIPAA compliance guide self-dated January 2024, so nothing from it is presented as a current statement. What that document does say is worth one sentence: Withings writes that its cloud services "could make WITHINGS a business associate" and describes its assessment as a business associate, without ever committing to execute an agreement. Prevouncesells cellular-connected devices it calls "clinically validated" rather than FDA-cleared, and publishes no price, no BAA language, no HIPAA language, and no named integration on the page we checked. HealthSnapcalls itself "the leading Virtual Care Management Platform", its own superlative, and states neither a price, a BAA posture, a device set, nor a named integration.

Two more names were dropped entirely rather than guessed at. AdhereTech's site returned server errors on every attempt, so no claim is made about it either way, and Peak Support blocked our requests outright. One candidate turned out to be miscategorized on inspection: Prompt Health is an outpatient rehab EHR, not a support vendor, and does not belong on this page at all. This page is re-verified on the quarterly runbook cadence, and additions require the same same-day verification pass it was built from.

Questions operators actually ask.

Which of these vendors will sign a BAA?

Four say so in public: HelpSquad Health and Athreon at company level, Ataraxis at both ends (the assistant signs with you, and Ataraxis signs with your practice), and Wishup at organizational level. One publishes an explicit refusal with its reasoning: Hello Rache says its corporation has no access to client PHI and therefore does not sign, leaving the agreement between you and an individual contractor. One hedges: MyOutDesk says “BAA-ready safeguards”, which is a claim about controls rather than an agreement to execute. One occupies a fifth position: Withings acknowledges in its own compliance guide that its cloud services “could make WITHINGS a business associate”, and describes its assessment as one, without ever committing to execute an agreement. That leaves fifteen, including every RPM vendor on this page, that do not address the question at all, and four plus one plus one plus one plus fifteen is the whole census of 22. A HIPAA-compliance badge is not a BAA, and neither is a SOC 2 report.

Why does the BAA question matter more than the hourly rate?

Because it decides who is accountable when something goes wrong, and because the answers are not correlated with price. The lowest hourly figure on this page belongs to the vendor publishing the clearest refusal to sign at the corporate level; a vendor charging about a dollar-fifty more an hour, running the same offshore model, signs at both ends. That is not an argument for either one. It is an argument for asking the question before you compare the numbers, and for getting the answer in your contract rather than off a badge row.

Which of these vendors make their prices public?

Six of the twenty-two, at the September 8, 2026 check. Five are staffing vendors quoting labor: Hello Rache ($9.50 an hour flat), HelpSquad Health ($8-13 an hour by role), Ataraxis ($1,950 a month full-time), Wishup ($1,299 part-time and $1,999 full-time monthly), and MyOutDesk (from $1,988 a month). One is a device vendor quoting hardware: BodyTrace, at $80 a year all-in for the scale, connectivity, interface, and API. Two more give structure without figures: TeleDirect sells prepaid minute blocks, and Smart Meter names three buying models. One is a category of its own: Wing Assistant’s visible pricing page carries no figures, and a range exists only inside that page’s machine-readable markup, which is metadata rather than a price a buyer is being quoted. Twelve give nothing at all, and one more, Withings, could not be checked because its pages block automated access. Six plus two plus one plus twelve plus one is the whole census of 22. The refill-operations layer gives nothing at any vendor.

What is the difference between the RPM vendors here?

Two axes, both taken from their own copy. Connectivity architecture: Tenovi routes Bluetooth and cellular devices through its own gateway, Smart Meter, CareSimple, and BodyTrace transmit natively over cellular with no hub, iHealth is Bluetooth-first with an optional gateway, and Impilo is deliberately vendor-agnostic across all of them. And how much of the operation the vendor absorbs: a data pipe you build on (Tenovi, BodyTrace), a logistics layer (Impilo), or a full program with the clinical team included (CareSimple, iHealth). Read the regulatory wording carefully too, because it varies: “FDA-cleared”, “FDA listed”, “FDA registered”, “clinically validated”, and “FDA approved” are five different claims, and each vendor's own word is reproduced in its row.

Can I outsource refill and retention operations to a vendor?

Barely, as of September 2026, and the honest answer is that this layer is not yet a category. One vendor sells refill operations as software (Honey Health, where it is one of about twenty back-office modules), one sells the same work as labor to pharmacies and PBMs (Ameridial), and one sells adherence to health plans rather than to you (Wellth). Three vendors with three different buyers is not a market. For a DTC recurring-Rx program, refill continuity is still something you build, staff from the support vendors above, or buy inside an operated platform.

How is EmbedCare different from the vendors on this page?

Everything here is a piece of an operation you are running: assistants you manage, devices you ship, refill work you supervise, and a BAA you have to go and ask for. EmbedCare runs the operation behind your brand instead: 50-state clinicians, owned pharmacy supply with medication included on GLP-1 programs, storefront, retention, and compliance, on flat product rates fixed in a signed partner agreement, with a self-serve Launch tier starting at $495/mo. If you are staffing patient support for a program you already run, this page is the diligence material; if you are deciding whether to run one at all, the stack index maps the other eight layers.

Rather not staff the support layer at all? Get the partner overview.

One email, no sequence. A human follows up with your program scoped.

Support, retention, and the compliance behind them, operated.

EmbedCare runs patient support and refill continuity behind your brand, so the BAA question and the staffing question both stop being yours to solve.